Speed Flatmating?!

 

download (1)

 

The setting, a trendy bar based in Clapham South, the event…. Speed Flatmating!!!

This is where I found myself last night as I continue my hunt for a permanent abode in London. The concept is brilliant; you have people looking for a room and those who are looking to fill a room, clearly separated by fetching name stickers. However, you cannot escape the social awkwardness involved so my first stop was the bar for some dutch courage. Armed with my £4.70 bottle of beer, (still can’t get over these prices!) I dove in head first as this is the only way you are going to get anywhere. Although I only came away with one potential viewing I learnt a lot and have since revised my specifications of what I’m looking for.

The lesson? Networking is so important in day-to-day life and it is the interactions we make with others that will define who we are and where we go. Who knows what seeming insignificant interactions/meetings could turn in to, a new friend, a dream job or a life long relationship, but by shying away from these, we will never find out.

As my buddy Joe says in his blog post here – http://joeburridge.com/2013/10/03/the-6am-thumbs-up/ – “It’s not what you know. It’s not who you know. It’s who knows you.”

So take that chance, do that thing and go to that place!

Leave a Reply

